I should be writing a paper on legendary graphic novel Watchmen right now, but I feel I need to clear my head a little first.

Before tonight, I can only ever say that I witnessed history unfold once in my life, and that was during 9/11. The only other truly historic moment that I can recall living through was the assassination of Yitzchak Rabin, but I can barely remember that and even during 9/11 I was just a little too naive to FULLY comprehend the scale of it all.

However, I just watched Barack Obama become the President of the United States of America. Now, I’ve truly witnessed history.

Now, unlike a lot of people I know, I absolultely do not believe this man is the end all and be all or the solution to all of America’s problems. As a matter of fact, I believe that unless the economy corrects itself (as people have been saying) that he will be powerless to stop its collapse (then again, so would everyone else.) The planet is still dying and I don’t believe he has the power to stop that either(but then again, I don’t think anyone does.) I’d like to think that his policies and the policies of his administration won’t make things worse, but I can’t guarantee that they won’t GET worse anyway (it’s really difficult to stop an avalanche after all.) From a political standpoint, I can’t say with any certaintly that Barack Obama’s election or a democratically controlled government means anything at all.

(I just deleted four paragraphs of my personal political history and an assload of preachy jargon. This post isnt about that. If you want it, feel free to ask.)

To me, and to millions of other people, this election was not about political change, it was about ideological change. A fundamental shift in the way an ENTIRE COUNTRY (minus a few million unfortunate souls) thinks. Obama’s victory does not only mean that poor old John McCain lost (and unlike many people who are thrilled tonight, I really feel for John McCain…as a member of any other party I believe he would have made a fantastic president), but the following occured as well:

Racism lost.

Fear lost.

Aversion to change lost.

Religious fundamentalism lost.

The people of the United States of America looked hate and fear in the face and said no, we will not stand for this. For the first time in my life, democracy ACTUALLY WORKED.

For the first time in my adult life I am no longer ashamed of where I grew up and most importantly…I’m not entirely sure that the ship is no longer sinking…but I want back on anyway.

Oh, and Alaska can have their bitch back now.

